Why do we run inside when it’s raining? Not when it’s storming, but when it’s simply raining a little? Today has been what most people would call “gloomy.” It’s been raining since noon and when I say raining, I mean raining.  But I love it. I have always enjoyed walking in the rain. During the summer rains I would leave my house and come back completely drenched. The heat from summer and the cool bursts of water you feel on your skin is refreshing. Today was a day I needed to run some errands because it’s my first day of training for the Chicago marathon and I had to grab some shoes. After one of my classes got out, it was raining. Most people leaving the building would make some comments such as, “of course I forgot my umbrella today” or “time to run.” It made me wonder why do we dislike rain so much? I eventually headed out to a sporting goods store to pick up a few things. When I was coming up from the subway I could see rain coming down the stair case. A man, sopping wet, came down with his hood up and said, “Shit….it’s raining.” I smiled and waited a beat before heading up the stairs.

I am not a fast walker. I love to run and I have no problem walking anywhere but I have come to the realization that I am just not a fast walker. Whenever I’m with another person, I can keep up but depending on how much taller they are, it can be a little difficult. But when I’m by myself I go at my own pace. I enjoy taking a stroll and looking around at people and buildings. It can irritate the people I’m with if I start slowing them down but that’s no matter. So I was walking back home and it was only a couple of blocks but I was completely soaked. I enjoyed it. I looked around at all the people huddling together under awnings and all the others without umbrellas running through crosswalks. But I was just walking, as if it was a beautiful sunny day. What was going through my head was this; God gives us sunny days and He gives us rainy days, we can’t pick and choose. God gives us changing weather just as He gives us changing situations. So I continue to walk and I happen to love the feeling of rain. I know my clothes are going to dry so I have no issue getting rained on a bit. Previously, I did have an issue walking through rain. When I was in high school and cared much more about my appearance so I really didn’t care for rain. I would worry about my makeup, my hair, my clothes, my things and preferred to wait out the rain. As I was walking today, I was thinking, why do I let things like rain stop me from doing things? It got me thinking about other things. I didn’t just let rain stop me from doing things but I let people, judgement, society, etc, stop me as well. Why do I let certain things dictate my actions and hinder me from living out God’s will for my life? The biggest hindrance for me is fear. I let fear control me and anxiety creeps right next to it. So I thought about this. If you were walking on a side-walk on a beautiful sunny day and all of a sudden it starts raining. How does a person normally react? Most people will run for cover. They will look for the easiest way out. But what would happen if they just kept walking? They would probably get covered in water, but eventually they would dry off. Their hair may be ruined, their makeup may be running down their faces, and their clothes may be damp but they’re still here and in tact. I often view my situations how most people view harmless rain. I see a conflict coming and I run for cover, I avoid it at all costs. I hide from it and wait for it to go away. I let the rain dictate what I do with my time because it can force me to wait for it to be over. Right now, I would rather keep walking through the rain than wait under a small awning. So when situations come my way, I need to remember the rain. I need to remember that I may come out on the other side a little damp, looking a bit different. But God will see me through it, He will guide me through the storm and through the rains. Eventually I will come out on the other side, different but still intact.

I am right at the halfway point of this prayer challenge and I decided to take a bit of a pause. I’m not stopping anything but since it is so much information and all incredible stuff, I wanted to reflect on everything and continue to practice the things God has taught me. I don’t want to rush through this challenge and lose anything. I will be posting as soon as I feel ready and from there I should be posting regularly again.

God bless you and remember, you are beautifully made in the image of God. 

Side Note: I am planning on running the Chicago marathon with Team World Vision, an organization that runs to raise money for clean water for kids in Africa. If you’d like to donate you can go to this link Donate Here. Besides that, prayer is always appreciated if you feel so inclined. 

Leave a Reply

